It's a Dog Tag Wife Life

The musings of a non-conventional, soon-to-be Army Wife

Tasty Tuesday: Who Doesn’t Love French’s Onions? November 16, 2010

Filed under: Life,Recipe,Tasty Tuesday — It's a Dog Tag Wife Life @ 12:32 pm
Tags: , , ,

I swear, I could eat a whole can of French’s Onions.  And not the small can either.

Probably not a great idea, but they are just so good.  I use them on salads instead of croutons and they’re great.  They’re even better for me because raw onions give me fierce heartburn but I can have the fried variety, go figure.  And yes, that also means I’m a sucker for the Bloomin’ Onion (mmm, nom nom, bloomin onion, nom nom).

I also love green bean casserole.  For as long as I can remember, that has always been my contribution to Thanksgiving.  Even as a kid, my mom and I would make it together.  Next week, I am spending my first Thanksgiving without my family and am a little sad about it.  However, I will still be making the green bean casserole.

I did learn, recently, that French’s Onions are good for recipes other than Green Bean Casserole.  The hunny’s mom made us the other recipe that is on the back of the French’s Onions can.  It’s sort of like an oven fried chicken.  I made a couple of tweaks though (because that’s what I like to do with recipes).  I’ve made it a couple of times, and it’s awesome each time.  But then again, I said I could eat an entire can of these things, if they are involved, I’ll most likely eat it.  I might even eat mushrooms (eeeep) if they were coated in these things. Anyways, here’s the recipe for the oven fried goodness.

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 2 cups French’s Onions
  • 2 TBSP flour
  • 1 Egg

Yup, that’s it.  Well, for the original recipe.  Here’s what I like to add.

  • 1/2 tsp ground pepper
  • 2-3 cloves minced garlic

Preheat the oven to 400 F.  Mush up (not the words on the can, but it sounds fun) the pepper, garlic, flour, and onions.  Coat the chicken in the egg and then dip in the onion mixture, pressing the onion bits so that they stick.  Place in ungreased pan and bake for 20 minutes.  Ok, I’ll be honest, I bake it for 30 minutes because I have an unnatural fear of undercooked chicken.  Because that’s gross.

But that’s it, super easy, super quick, and super delicious.  This would probably make even the pickiest eater happy.  Add some mashed potatoes, peas, and you’ve got an awesome meal.  Hmm, guess what I’ll be having for dinner tonight 🙂

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

