It's a Dog Tag Wife Life

The musings of a non-conventional, soon-to-be Army Wife

Tasty Tuesday: My Favorite Spice November 9, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — It's a Dog Tag Wife Life @ 9:07 pm

Cumin – a flowering plant in the family Apiaceae, native from the east Mediterranean to East India. Its seeds, in ground form, are used in the cuisines of many different cultures. (thanks to Wikipedia)

I adore cumin.  I use it in everything I think needs a little Mediterranean flavor.  Mostly, I put it in couscous.  The hunny wasn’t home for dinner tonight and sometimes, I miss him when I’m cooking, but I actually savored his absence this evening.  It meant I could have couscous as my meal.  The hunny isn’t big into vegetarian food, but I love it. I make couscous and add several types of veggies and it’s one of my favorite things to eat when he isn’t home for dinner.

I also put it in my tacos, it makes a really great smokey flavor.  It goes well on chicken, rice, and a ton of other food.  I love earthy flavors (not stuff that tastes like dirt of course) but cumin has this wonderful, warm, rich flavor, if you haven’t had it.  Plus, it goes well with red and white wine (in my opinion).

Sorry for the short post, it’s been sort of a rough day, work wasn’t kind to me.  You can also tell that by my post from earlier today on why Tuesday is the worst day of the week.

 

Leave a Reply

