It's a Dog Tag Wife Life

The musings of a non-conventional, soon-to-be Army Wife

Dog Military Names November 4, 2010

Filed under: Army,MilSpouse — It's a Dog Tag Wife Life @ 3:30 pm
Tags: ,

Ok out there in MilSpouse (or any other) world…I have a question for you.  Let’s say you were considering adopting a dog and wanted it to have a military/patriotic/American name.  What would you name it?

No real reason, but I was on PetFinder.com today (it’s a true weakness, I just love looking at the puppies and kittens) and saw dogs with the names like Chicken Little, Ruby Tuesday, Wood’s Edge, Piney Branch, Ribeye, John Henry and so on.  Ruby Tuesday?  Really?  They  have good sliders and all but…

So it made me think what I would name dogs if I ran a shelter.  I’d probably try to do something patriotic, but was having a hard time thinking of names besides the names of posts around the country.  Tindell, Eustis, Hale (for the Hale Koa), Benning, Ambush (for a particularly friendly animal), Bunker, Sally, and so on.  If you were to adopt an animal, and you wanted to give it a military/patriotic/etc name, what would you name it?

 

4 Responses to “Dog Military Names”

  1. Natalia Says:

    I love Thomas Jefferson, he was such an incredible politician/writer/scientist/gardener…..he truly was a Renaissance man! So I’d probably name my pet Thomas Jefferson.

  2. Molly Danger Says:

    Don’t forget his wine collection. He was huge in trying to get wine into the US as well as trying to grow it in Monticello (unsuccessfully).

    I think Ambush is hilarious. I totally might steal that for my next dog. The AF bases are so boring as far as names go so I vote stripes, stars, bunker, drill, delta, charlie, and Ambush. I’m stealing that one. That’s just awesome. It has to be like a bulldog named Ambush though.

    • Agreed! We saw his wine cellar when we went to Monticello and it was pretty impressive.

      I like Delta, that’d be cute. And yes, I thought Ambush would be a funny name, especially for a dog that either looks mean or is just super hyper, like a Jack Russell Terrier.


Leave a Reply

