It's a Dog Tag Wife Life

The musings of a non-conventional, soon-to-be Army Wife

Tasty Tuesday – Fred and Ginger, ok, just Ginger October 12, 2010

Filed under: Tasty Tuesday — It's a Dog Tag Wife Life @ 3:13 pm

Because of some of my tummy issues, I occasionally have bouts of nausea.  And I hate the feeling.  However, a few years ago, before the problem really required my attention, a few of my friends were pregnant with their first child.  I wanted to do something to ease their morning sickness discomfort so I popped in a natural food store and bought some ginger candies.  Ginger is known to help ease stomach-ache and nausea.  It’s been used for years in teas, ground up, in food, and most commonly these days, ginger snaps and ginger ale.  Every time I fly, I always drink ginger ale.  I don’t seem to have a problem with flying, but it always comforts me to know that I’m doing something to help prevent the sickness.

Anyway, I ended up buying a bag of the candy for myself.  I like ginger and spicy food so I thought, why not.  I tried them and LOVED them.  They are called Ginger Chews and they are made by the Ginger People.

They make them in several flavors including spicy apple & peanut.  I love the apple ones.  Especially in the fall.  I keep these things everywhere.  A few in my purse, in my car, in my desk at work, and the pantry at home.  I don’t get nauseated often, but when I do, I pop one in my mouth, and suck on it until it’s almost gone.  They are chewy as the name implies, but usually when I’m not feeling well, I don’t necessarily feel like eating so just letting it dissolve helps. And sometimes, I just eat one because I like them.  They are a bit spicy so if it’s not your style, you may want to just pass them by.

They also make a lot of other products like pickled sushi ginger (I love this stuff, I always eat it after my sushi meals), ginger ale, hard candy, sauces, etc.  Plus, a lot of their products are gluten-free or vegan.  I have gotten mine at Kroger, Trader Joe’s, and natural food stores.  If you check out their store locator, their distributors have grown quite a bit.  When I first bought them, they were hard to find (and all they had were the chews) but they are growing.

I’m really not trying to advertise, but I really do love these candies.  If you get nauseated or are pregnant or plan on getting pregnant, these things really are fantastic.  Even if you just break a little piece off because it’s very spicy, it does wonders for your stomach.  I even had it recommended to put a couple in a very hot cup of water and make a tea out of it.

Then again, maybe I love ginger since I’m a red head 🙂

 

 

5 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday – Fred and Ginger, ok, just Ginger”

  1. Jackie.Hames Says:

    They also make crystallized ginger cubes (same company), which are mild but very sweet.

  2. Natalia Says:

    These are so yummy! I love ginger! I keep a bunch of it peeled, sliced and wrapped in foil in the freezer so it’s easy to grab when I want to cook with it.

  3. Kendra Says:

    I always drink Ginger Ale on plane rides too! I used to do it to calm my stomach, but now it’s a tradition. We just flew to LA and back and I drank a ton of the stuff!


Leave a Reply

