It's a Dog Tag Wife Life

The musings of a non-conventional, soon-to-be Army Wife

MilSpouse Friday Fill-In #16 October 8, 2010

Filed under: MilSpouse — It's a Dog Tag Wife Life @ 10:14 am
Tags:

1. What is the longest road trip you’ve ever taken?
When I was younger, both of my brothers lived in Texas while me and my parents lived in the midwest.  We drove from point A to point B, in a terrible snowstorm.  It took us something like 23 hours. I love my parents and it’s a good thing I was in high school, because I will never ever do that with them again.

2. Do you collect anything? Tell us a bit about it.
Not really.  Every time I go to a foreign country, I like to collect some small knick knack, but usually I like to get something useful.  A makeup bag from Japan, a satchel from Austria, a scarf from Prague.  If it’s foreign, I usually love it.  But I do have a strong fondness for my Kokeshi doll.

3. What is your favorite part about being an adult?
I love having freedom.  If I want to take a trip, I can.  If I want to stay out all night, I can.  If I want to eat cupcakes for dinner (which I have done but paid for it later), I can.  I love being able to control my own life and destiny.

4. What song brings a tear to your eye?
I have to agree with Wife of a Soldier, “If You’re Reading This” by Tim McGraw.  I also get that way about “It’s Your Love” by him and Faith Hill.  That’s the song that was playing when the hunny proposed and it just makes me so happy.

5. Describe your first plane ride (how old you were, where you were heading, etc).
I was only a few months old.  We were going to Florida to meet my Dad’s parents.  And considering I was so young, I don’t remember anything about it.  But I remember my first solo flight (with many in between).  I was visiting my oldest brother in Austin, TX and was 19.  I was so nervous but have never looked back.  Since then, I’ve flown to Europe and Japan on my own.

 

2 Responses to “MilSpouse Friday Fill-In #16”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Hi! I am following you via the MilSpouse Friday Fill-In.
    I hear you on #2. We are currently stationed in Germany, and I collect all kinds of stuff now. Its its hand carved and german, I collect it. Same with Polish pottery and wine. We are hoping to venture out more in this country, and im sure ill find more things to collect. Not that I need more, but hey, ill only be here once….. hopefully. LOL!

    -M-
    michelletherib.blogspot.com (follow me back)


Leave a Reply

