It's a Dog Tag Wife Life

The musings of a non-conventional, soon-to-be Army Wife

Tasty Tuesday – Grilled Cheese a la Me! October 5, 2010

Filed under: Recipe — It's a Dog Tag Wife Life @ 2:58 pm

Ok, grilled cheese doesn’t sound exciting.  Two pieces of white bread with a couple of slices of American Cheese.  Not in this household. (forgive me, no pictures this week).

The hunny loves cheese.  And I’m not talking about kinda likes cheese.  I’m talking about LOVES cheese.  He could eat cheese with every meal.  And lots of it.  On the weekends when we make a breakfast of cinnamon rolls and eggs, or pancakes and bacon, there is always cheese on our table.  Snacks, cheese.  I make veggies, shredded cheese goes on it.  Thank goodness for PT.

So I have altered the traditional grilled cheese recipe.  I always use real cheese, cheddar, colby, monteray jack, etc.  Two of my favorites to use are havarti and gouda.  And I mix them.  If we don’t have anything fancy, we almost always have at least cheddar and colby jack.  Those two great together.  I also love using pepper jack, the spiciness is offset nicely by the cheese.

And cheese isn’t the only thing I use.  I like to add other things to the sandwich.  I’m not a huge tomato fan, but the hunny likes them.  Sometimes, I put tomato on them.  Other times it’s bacon or ham.  My favorite is avocado.  Actually, my favorite is bacon and avocado.

And of course the bread is important.  I love a nice french bread.  It should be about the thickness of a regular slice of bread, maybe 1/2″.  I even like to use my panini press, it heats the sandwich on both sides so no flipping is necessary.

Here is my favorite type of grilled cheese.  Enjoy with a bowl of cream of tomato soup.

  • Two Slices French Bread
  • Depending on the size of the cheese 6-8 3/8″ slices of cheese (pick a couple, for this I’ll say half havarti and half cheddar)
  • 3 slices of avocado
  • 2 slices cooked bacon

Heat the pan (or panini press) to just below medium.  Butter one side of each slice of the bread.  Place the first slice in the pan, butter side on the pan.  Arrange the cheese, bacon, and avocado.  When the cheese starts to melt, place the other slice of bread, butter side up, on the sandwich.  Flip the sandwich.  Wait until the bread is toasted and the cheese is melty.  Enjoy!!!

 

4 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday – Grilled Cheese a la Me!”

  1. oh yeah! LOL this post made me hungry.. actually going to try this now.. only with ingredients i have available hahaha

  2. Molly Danger Says:

    I love grilled cheese sandwiches. I really like using a homemade (or fresh bakery made) tomato basil bread. My mom works at a restaurant that has an attached bakery and I like to take the day old loafs and throw them in the freezer. Then I don’t have to worry about getting decent bread when I want some, I’ve already got it. It is delicious! Plus, pair it with some tomato basil soup and you’re good to go. I love the V8 soup. I can make a quick meal in less than 10 minutes with a george foreman and no butter!

    • Mmm, that sounds delicious. My dad’s hobby is baking bread and I love it!!! He makes this potato bread that I could eat a whole loaf of. He also makes a Hawaiian sweet bread that makes the most amazing french toast. I could eat that every day.


Leave a Reply

