It's a Dog Tag Wife Life

The musings of a non-conventional, soon-to-be Army Wife

27 Things You May Not Know About Me September 23, 2010

Filed under: Life — It's a Dog Tag Wife Life @ 2:59 pm

A couple of weeks ago, my friends at Close Encounters of the Me Kind and Adventures in Wordspinning did this on their blog and I couldn’t help but make a list also.  Some of these things are silly, and others are very serious.  It was fun.  Again, no personal information, but some fun facts about me 🙂

1.) I have lived in 6 states and have traveled to 10 countries.  I have a hard time staying still.  I haven’t gone out of the country in almost three years and I can’t stand it.

2.) I HATE eating mushrooms.  The weird thing is, I love how they taste, but the texture just freaks me out.  Same goes for eggplant.

3.) Ask any of my friends from high school and college, a military man is the last person they would have seen me with.

4.) Sometimes I crack myself up.  I’ll think of an old joke or something that happened a long time ago and just start laughing.  My co-workers probably think I’m nuts since at least once a week I giggle to myself.

5.) I finished college, earned my master’s degree, have held three jobs, and I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.

6.) I love the hunny with all my heart, but sometimes when he goes out of town, I relish being able to eat whatever I want for dinner and taking up the entire bed.

7.) I am the youngest of 3 kids, 15 grandkids, and the first girl born to one side of my family in over 100 years.

8.) Baking is one of my favorite things to do, and I’m pretty decent at it.  It all started because I didn’t have a lot of friends in 8th grade.

9.) I get distracted very easily.  Ooooh, shiny ::Walks away from computer::

10.) Tacos are one of my favorite foods.  I could eat them every week and never be tired of them.  Plus, my mom’s recipe is awesome and I use it all the time.

11.) I consider myself pretty self-confident, but the odd thing is, I never feel like I can completely be myself at work.  Which is probably a good thing.  They’d all think I was crazier than I already am.

12.) Red wine goes with anything, in my opinion.  If I could drink at least one glass every night without feeling icky, I absolutely would.

13.) I love hot showers.  Sometimes, when I’m stressed or sad, I will shower until the hot water is gone.  Then wait an hour or so and do it again.  There’s something very therapeutic about the water hitting me.  Especially if I’m upset, it seems to let the tears flow easier.

14.) Every time I see a number, I try to figure out how the digits work together.  This goes for time, radio stations, almost anything. For example, if it’s 4:19, I’ll say that if you add the 4 and the 1, then add another 4, it’ll add to 9.  I’ve been like this as long as I can remember.

15.) I desperately want to be good at something.  I don’t know what it is, but I know that I want to be better than everyone I know at something.  Right now I consider myself a jack of all trades, master of none.

16.) Owning a business is something I’ve always wanted to do so that I can be my own boss.  Ironically, my favorite idea recently has been a personal concierge service.

17.) I get extremely nervous when someone comes into a room I’m in and closes the door.  This is what happened with my first break up and when I got laid off.  I even said this to the guy who told me I was no longer employed, before he told me the bad news.

18.) In reference to the previous statement, I have nightmares about being laid off regularly and they bother me as much now as they did two years ago.

19.) I have an unbelievable amount of useless information and details in my head but can’t seem to remember important things.  For example, I remember what outfit we laid my grandma to rest in, but can’t remember the day she died.

20.) I am a strong person, but don’t deal with stress well.  I carry it in my stomach which never is good.

21.) In a previous life, I considered myself very metropolitan.  I liked cities, went out for martinis, loved to shop, and could tell you 5 places to go for a killer dinner at the drop of a hat. Now, I want to work in a garden, have a lot of land, I listen to country music, and love going to the racetrack to watch the hunny and his guys race.  Oh how life will change you.

22.) My favorite job was as a tour guide in college.  I’ve never had so much fun and grown so much in one place.

23.) I absolutely hate second guessing. It may take me a while to get there, but when I make a decision, I stick with it. Very rarely have I changed my mind on a major decision I’ve made.

24.) I have a very unnatural fear of jellyfish.  They scare the heck out of me and it makes it hard for me to go in the ocean and is part of the reason I’ve never learned how to SCUBA dive.

25.) “We don’t stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” – George Bernard Shaw:  These are words I try to live by and I try to play and be goofy at least once every day.

26.) If I’m having a very bad day, I Google “Angora Rabbit“.  Just looking at them makes me giggle.  When you see them, you’ll know what I mean.

27.) I love love love weather.  If I could go back to school and know I would succeed (stupid calculus is what’s in my way), I would study meteorology in a second.  I would love to work for NOAA or a news station.  And yes, I would totally be willing to be that girl who stands in the middle of a snowstorm and reports on how awful the conditions are.

Hope you had fun.

 

13 Responses to “27 Things You May Not Know About Me”

  1. Kendra Says:

    #12- It sounds like you’re not drinking the right red wine! =)
    It’s impressive and cool that you are the 1st girl born on one side of your family for 100 years! I too am terrified of jellyfish, but it’s because I’ve been stung by them before and it was a horrifying experience. I will snorkel but I will never, ever scuba!

  2. Carrie Clark Says:

    10) When you come to DC, I’m taking you to my favorite Mexican place. Their entrees are only OK but ohmyword do they make FANTASTIC tacos. I have their fish tacos at least once a week.

    19) I’m the same way. I remember the fact that the bagel place I went to once the morning after spending the first night with someone almost two and a half years ago is cash only but forget what my boss asks me to do in the time it takes to walk to my desk from her office.

    26) That’s frickin awesome. *Giggles*

  3. Natalia Says:

    Great list! I also think red wine goes with anything, love long hot showers (not this summer in DC though), wish I could figure out numbers like you, am also the last person anyone would think to marry into the Military and like to eat potato chips for dinner and sleep diagonally when Mr. F is gone!

  4. I crack myself up all the time, too! My husband just looks at me and tells me that I’m weird. LOL!

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one!! Especially at night, as we’re lying in bed, sometimes he’ll make me laugh, then I’ll think about something else that was funny, and it’ll take me 5 minutes to stop laughing. They say it’s good for you at least!

  5. I hate eggplants, too! The texture is disgusting!!!

  6. Victoria Says:

    #14 is totally me too!!! I feel so much better about it now that I know I’m not the only one!

  7. Jackie.Hames Says:

    15.) I think you’re pretty much the bestest cupcake baker in the universe that is our group of mutual friends. Does that count?

    • Haha, maybe. Sadly, I haven’t made any from scratch recently. I think I may have to start again. I found these adorable owl cupcakes (look like owls, not made with them) that I’m thinking of making for Halloween.


Leave a Reply

